

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

"OPPENHEIMER" "POOR THINGS" AND "SALTBURN" TAKE HOME TOP MOTION PICTURE HONORS AT THE 28TH ANNUAL EXCELLENCE IN PRODUCTION DESIGN AWARDS

"THE GREAT," "THE LAST OF US," "SUCCESSION," "BEEF," "RESERVATION DOGS" AND "FRASIER" WIN FOR TELEVISION

EPK with photos and video **HERE**.

LOS ANGELES – The <u>Art Directors Guild</u> (ADG, IATSE Local 800) presented the winners of the **28th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards** tonight in a ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom, Ovation Hollywood.

For Excellence in Production Design in a Feature Film awards categories, **Ruth De Jong** won the Period Feature Film award for "Oppenheimer," **James Price** and **Shona Heath** took home the Fantasy Feature Film award for "Poor Things" and **Suzie Davies** won the Contemporary Feature Film award for "Saltburn." In the Excellence in Production Design in Television categories, **Francesca di Mottola** won the One-Hour Period Single-Camera Series award for "The Great," **John Paino** won the One-Hour Fantasy Single-Camera Series award for "The Last of Us," **Stephen Carter** earned the One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series award for "Succession," **Grace Yun** won the Television Movie or Limited Series award for "Beef," **Brandon Tonner-Connolly** received the Half-Hour Single-Camera Series award for "Reservation Dogs" and **Glenda Rovello** won the Multi-Camera Series award for "Frasier." A full list of winners can be found below.

"We're thrilled to celebrate the winners of this year's awards. With their teams, they represent the highest pinnacle of excellence in Production Design and all four crafts of the guild," say award show producers Michael Allen Glover, ADG and Megan Elizabeth Bell, ADG.

Presented to an audience of more than 950 guild members, filmmakers and industry executives, guild members gathered to honor the best work in art departments over the past year of cinema and television. The ceremony was hosted by Emmy®-nominated actor and comedian Max Greenfield ("The Neighborhood," "New Girl") and awards presenters included Rhys Darby, Kevin Sussman, Zoe Lister-Jones, Lily Rabe, Jodi Balfour, Olivia Thirlby, Karen Gillan, Robin Thede, David Oyelowo, Rob Corddry and Kevin Pollak.

Actor Karen Pittman ("The Morning Show") led a standing ovation for highly acclaimed director,

producer and showrunner **Mimi Leder**, who accepted the 2024 Cinematic Imagery Award, presented by Pittman. Leder currently serves as the executive producer and director of the hit AppleTV+ series, "The Morning Show." During her acceptance speech, she emphasized her rich history of collaboration with art departments on her award-winning series and motion pictures. "I imagine scenes and worlds. Then, my production designer and their team build the damn thing. Production designers turn lead into gold, glass into diamonds," says Leder. "I want to thank the Art Director's Guild for this honor. I am truly humbled to receive this from you."

The late, legendary production designer Lawrence G. Paull was inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame, honoring his work on classic films such as "Blade Runner," "Back to the Future," "Romancing the Stone," "City Slickers," "Harlem Nights" and "Escape from L.A."

The ADG Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to four esteemed guild members. Production Designer Wynn P. Thomas ("Hidden Figures," "Malcolm X," "Do the Right Thing") received the Art Directors Council Lifetime Achievement Award. Thomas is the first African-American person to work as a production designer. Scenic Artist Francine West ("Three's Company," "The Carol Burnett Show") received the Scenic, Title, and Graphic Artists Council Lifetime Achievement Award. She was the first female scenic artist hired by both MGM and NBC. Set Designer and Art Director Greg Papalia ("Air," "Coming to America") received the Set Designers and Model Makers Council Lifetime Achievement Award. Illustrator and Storyboard Artist David Lowery ("The Mandalorian," "Jurassic Park") took home the Illustrators and Matte Artists Council Lifetime Achievement Award.

The complete winners list is below:

WINNERS FOR MOTION PICTURES

PERIOD FEATURE FILM

Oppenheimer

Production Designer: Ruth De Jong

FANTASY FEATURE FILM

Poor Things

Production Designers: James Price, Shona Heath

CONTEMPORARY FEATURE FILM

Saltburn

Production Designer: Suzie Davies

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse Production Designer: Patrick O'Keefe

WINNERS FOR TELEVISION:

ONE-HOUR PERIOD SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

The Great: "You the People," "Fun," "Peter and the Wolf"

Production Designer: Francesca di Mottola

ONE-HOUR FANTASY SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

The Last of Us: "Infected"

Production Designer: John Paino

ONE-HOUR CONTEMPORARY SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

Succession: "America Decides"

Production Designer: Stephen Carter

TELEVISION MOVIE OR LIMITED SERIES

Beef

Production Designer: Grace Yun

HALF-HOUR SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

Reservation Dogs: "Deer Lady"

Production Designer: Brandon Tonner-Connolly

MULTI-CAMERA SERIES

Frasier: "Moving In"

Production Designer: Glenda Rovello

VARIETY or REALITY SERIES

Squid Game: The Challenge: "War"

Production Designers: Mathieu Weekes, Ben Norman

VARIETY SPECIAL

80th Golden Globe Awards

Production Designer: Brian Stonestreet

COMMERCIALS (tie)

Apple: The New Macbook Pro

Production Designer: François Audouy

Booking.com: "Somewhere, Anywhere," The Musical

Production Designer: Florencia Martin

SHORT FORMAT & MUSIC VIDEO

Taylor Swift: "I Can See You"

Production Designer: Ethan Tobman, Miren Marañón

The Art Directors Guild are proud to be sponsored by *Presenting Level*: Sweetwater / NEP Live Events; *Premier Level*: Apple TV+, ON Air/ Astek, Creative Artists Agency, CushLight, Dazian, FormDecor, Hard Rock Café Hollywood, I.A.T.S.E. Local 44; *Diamond Level*: Apple Original Films, Epic Games | Unreal Engine, MAX, Netflix, Paramount Pictures, Universal Pictures, Warner Bros. Design Studio & Warner Bros. Property; *Platinum Level*: Amazon MGM Studios, Goodnight and Company, Innovative Artists, Interior Design Solutions | Belbien, Universal Studios Property & Drapery, Pixar Animation Studios, Worldwide Production Agency; *Gold Level*: First Entertainment Credit Union, Warner Bros. Pictures, WME; *Silver Level*: Galpin Studio Rentals, I.A.T.S.E., Murtha Skouras Agency, Paramount+ with Showtime, Peacock,

Sony Pictures Entertainment, The Gersh Agency, United Talent Agency, Warner Bros. Discovery; *Media Sponsors*: Below the Line, SHOOTonline, The Hollywood Reporter, The Wrap, Variety.

ABOUT THE ART DIRECTORS GUILD:

Established in 1937, the Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) represents 3,300 members who work throughout the world in film, television and theater as: Production Designers and Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Set Designers and Model Makers; Illustrators and Matte Artists. ADG 800's ongoing activities include a Film Society screening series, the annual "Excellence in Production Design Awards" gala, a bimonthly craft magazine (*PERSPECTIVE*), figure drawing and other creative workshops, as well as extensive technology and craft training programs. For the Art Director Guild's online directory and resources, please visit www.adg.org.

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT ADG	MEDIA & PRESS CONTACT:
AWARDS: Debbie Patton, ADG Awards & Events Director Debbie@adg.org 818.762.9995	EBComs, LLC Public Relations Mackinley Sullivan, mackinley@ebcoms.com Ranjinder Hans, ranjinder@ebcoms.com
SPONSORSHIP/ADVERTISING/PREMIUM SEATING	CONNECT WITH THE ADG:
CONTACT:	
	Website: https://adg.org/
IngleDodd Media	Facebook: facebook.com/ADG800
adgawards@ingledodd.com 310.207.4410 x 245	X (Twitter): twitter.com/ADG800
	Instagram: instagram.com/adg800
	Perspective Magazine: https://adg.org/perspective/