

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

"THE SHAPE OF WATER", "COCO," "BLADE RUNNER 2049" and "LOGAN"

Motion Picture Winners at the 22nd Annual Art Directors Guild

'Excellence in Production Design' Awards

"THE HANDMAID'S TALE," "WILL & GRACE," "GAME OF THRONES," "GLOW," and "BLACK MIRROR" Win for Television Series

Honorees Include Academy Award®-Nominated Filmmaker KATHLEEN KENNEDY, Disney's Oscar®-Nominated Animation Filmmakers RON CLEMENTS and JOHN MUSKER and IATSE Intl Pres MATTHEW D. LOEB

ADG Debuted New Award Category "Excellence in Production Design in Animation"
Hosted by Comedian JOHNATHAN FERNANDEZ

NOTES TO MEDIA:

- EPK WILL BE AVAILABLE AT <u>WWW.ADGAWARDS.ORG/</u> BY 3 AM INCLUDING PHOTOS AND BROADCAST COVERAGE
- Additional photos available after midnight at: http://bit.ly/2FI3INS
- Photos are available from Shutterstock at: <u>shutr.bz/2DEiVcj</u>, <u>shutr.bz/2DHAQ1F</u>, <u>shutr.bz/2DUOVMH</u>, <u>shutr.bz/2DJjWUG</u>

HOLLYWOOD, Jan. 27, 2018 – The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) tonight announced winners of its 22nd Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards in 11 categories of film, television, commercials, music videos and, for the first time, animation features, during a black-tie ceremony at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood and Highland. "Blade Runner 2049" (Dennis Gassner), "The Shape of Water" (Paul Denham Austerberry), "Coco" (Harley Jessup), and "Logan" (Francois Audouy), won Best Production Design for Feature Film. Television winners included "The Handmaid's Tale" (Julie Berghoff), "Portlandia" (Schuyler Telleen), "Will & Grace" (Glenda Rovella), "Black Mirror" (Joel Collins, Phil Sims), and "Game of Thrones" (Deborah Riley) "Glow" (Todd Fjelsted), and "Star Wars Battlefront II: Rivalry/PS4" (Jason Edmonds), respectively.

The awards took place before an audience of more than 1,000, including guild members, industry executives and press. ADG President **NELSON COATES** and Art Directors Council Chair **MARK WORTHINGTON** presided over the awards ceremony with comedian **JOHNATHAN FERNANDEZ** serving as host. Returning again as producers of this year's ADG Awards (#ADGawards) were Production Designers **THOMAS A. WALSH**, ADG, and **THOMAS WILKINS**, ADG. The guild debuted its new award category *Excellence in Production Design for an Animated Film* and Pixar's "Coco" was the first recipient of this award.

Oscar-winning Production Designer **RICK CARTER** (*Avatar, StarWars: The Force Awakens*) presented **KATHLEEN KENNEDY** (*Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Jurassic Park, E.T. the Extra Terrestrial*) with the

prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award following a filmed salute to the eight-time Academy Award®-Nominee and President of Lucasfilm. The William Cameron Menzies Award honored Disney's Oscar®-nominated animation filmmakers RON CLEMENTS and JOHN MUSKER (Moana, Hercules, Aladdin) and was presented by ANIKA NONI ROSE (Dreamgirls, The Princess and The Frog), who thrilled the audience with her vocal performance of The Little Mermaid's "Part of Your World." A special Leadership Award was bestowed upon International IATSE President MATTHEW D. LOEB by ADG Executive Director CHUCK PARKER.

The Outstanding Creative Achievement Award went to Production Designer MICHAEL BAUGH by ADG President NELSON COATES and Art Directors Council Chair MARK WORTHINGTON. Lifetime Achievement Awards were presented to Production Designer NORM NEWBERRY by Production Designer RICK CARTER; Emmy®-winning and Oscar®-nominated Production Designer/Set Designer JAMES MURAKAMI by four time Oscar®-nominee GARY FETTIS; Scenic Artist JOHN MOFFITT by ED STRANG, and Senior Illustrator/Art Director MARTIN KLINE by CASEY BERNAY. The late Oscar-winning Production Designer SIR KEN ADAM (*Dr. Strangelove, James Bond*) Senior Illustrator and Bambi's Concept Designer TYRUS WONG were inducted into the ADG Hall of Fame.

Additional presenters for this year's awards included GARY OLDMAN (*Darkest Hour*), WILL ARNETT (*Arrested Development*), LOU DIAMOND PHILLIPS (*Longmire*), KATE BURTON (*Scandal*) and KATEE SACKHOFF (*Battlestar Gallactica*), NANCY CARTWRIGHT (*The Simpsons*); CATHERINE O'HARA (*Home Alone*), and RIAN JOHNSON (Director, *Star Wars: The Last Jedi*).

WINNERS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRODUCTION DESIGN FOR A FEATURE FILM

1. PERIOD FILM

THE SHAPE OF WATER

Production Designer: PAUL DENHAM AUSTERBERRY

2. FANTASY FILM

BLADE RUNNER 2049

Production Designer: **DENNIS GASSNER**

3. CONTEMPORARY FILM

LOGAN

Production Designer: FRANÇOIS AUDOUY

4. ANIMATED FILM

COCO

Production Designer: HARLEY JESSUP

WINNERS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRODUCTION DESIGN FOR TELEVISION ARE:

5. ONE-HOUR PERIOD OR FANTASY SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

GAME OF THRONES: "Dragonstone," "The Queen's Justice," "Eastwatch"

Production Designer: **DEBORAH RILEY**

6. ONE-HOUR CONTEMPORARY SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

THE HANDMAID'S TALE: "Pilot, Offred," "Birth Day," "Nolite Te Bastardes Carborundorum"

Production Designer: JULIE BERGHOFF

7. TELEVISION MOVIE OR LIMITED SERIES

BLACK MIRROR: "USS Callister"

Production Designers: JOEL COLLINS, PHIL SIMS

8. HALF HOUR SINGLE-CAMERA SERIES

GLOW: "Pilot," "The Wrath of Kuntar," "The Dusty Spur"
Production Designer: TODD FJELSTED

9. MULTI-CAMERA SERIES

WILL & GRACE: "Eleven Years Later," "A Gay Olde Christmas"
Production Designer: GLENDA ROVELLO

10. SHORT FORMAT: WEB SERIES, MUSIC VIDEO OR COMMERCIAL

STAR WARS BATTLEFRONT II: "Rivalry / PS4"
Production Designer: JASON EDMONDS

11. VARIETY OR COMPETITION SERIES/AWARDS OR EVENT SPECIAL

PORTLANDIA: "Portland Secedes," "Ants," "Fred`s Cell Phone Company" Production Designer: SCHUYLER TELLEEN

The ADG Awards is proud to be sponsored by *DESIGN VANGUARD LEVEL*: Shutterstock; *PREMIER LEVEL*: 20th Century Fox; *DOUBLE PLATINUM LEVEL*: Netflix, *PLATINUM LEVEL*: Astek Wallcovering, ICM Partners, Focus Features, Fox Searchlight, Lucasfilm Ltd, NBC Universal, TRIO Entertainment Services Group, Universal Pictures, UTA, Walt Disney Animation, Walt Disney Studios; *Gold Level*: The Gersh Agency, Warner Bros. Studio Facilities, WPA; *SILVER LEVEL*: All-Access Staging & Productions, Bridgeman Images, Fox Production Services, IATSE, Illustrators & Matte Artists Council, Set Designers and Model Makers Council, Scenic, Title & Graphic Artists Council, JC Backings, Murtha Skouras Agency, Pixar, Universal Cable Productions, USA Network, WME; *SPECIAL IATSE SPONSORS*: IATSE, District 3, Local 16, Local 33, Local 52, Local 600, Local 764, *MEDIA SPONSORS*: American Cinematheque, SDSU School of Theatre, Television and Film, SHOOT, The Hollywood Reporter, Variety; *IN-KIND SPONSORS*: Centerline Scenery, VER, Night Light Labs, Turn of Events Productions, Dangling Carrot, Modern Props, Transformit

Further inquiries regarding the ADG Awards may be directed to Debbie Patton, ADG Awards & Events Director, at 818.762.9995 or Email: Debbie@artdirectors.org.

ABOUT THE ART DIRECTORS GUILD: The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,500 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers, Model Makers and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild's Online Directory/Website Resource is at www.adg.org. Connect with the Art Directors Guild and #ADGawards on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

###

PRESS CONTACTS:

Cheri Warner · Erick Yamagata · Weissman/Markovitz Communications 818.760.8995 · cheri@publicity4all.com · erick@publicity4all.com

SPONSORSHIP/ADVERTISING CONTACT:

Dan Evans · IngleDodd Media

310-918-4882 · ADGawards@ingledodd.com