

LOCAL 800 IATSE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

## OSCAR® NOMINEE JOSH BROLIN TO PRESENT CINEMATIC IMAGERY AWARD TO DAVID O. RUSSELL AT 20th ANNUAL ART DIRECTORS GUILD AWARDS

ADG's 20th Annual Excellence In Production Design Awards Celebrate "From Silver Screen to Every Screen," January 31 at the The Beverly Hilton

Winners info, photos and video footage will be available at <u>epklink.com/adgawards2016</u> For live updates, follow #ADGawards on <u>Twitter</u>, <u>Instagram</u> and Periscope

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 29, 2016 – Oscar®-nominated actor Josh Brolin will present the <u>Art Directors</u> <u>Guild</u> (ADG, IATSE Local 800) Cinematic Imagery Award to Oscar-nominated filmmaker David O. Russell at the 20th Annual Art Directors Guild Excellence in Production Design Awards on Sunday, January 31 at The Beverly Hilton. The announcement was made by ADG Council Chair Marcia Hinds and Awards Producer Thomas Wilkins. The ceremony, presented by <u>DXV</u> by <u>American Standard</u> and hosted by comedian Owen Benjamin, will honor the prestigious spectrum of Russell's extraordinary awardwinning work.

Brolin collaborated with Russell in 1996 with his role in *Flirting with Disaster*. Brolin received an Oscar nomination for his role in *Milk* (2008) starring Sean Penn and James Franco. Other award-winning credits include *Inherent Vice* (2014), *No Country for Old Men* (2007), *True Grit* (2010), *American Gangster* (2007) and most recently, *Sicario* (2015) starring Emily Blunt and Benicio Del Toro. He will appear in the upcoming film *Hail, Caesar!* starring George Clooney, Ralph Fiennes, Jonah Hill and Scarlett Johansson.

The ADG's Cinematic Imagery Award is given to those whose body of work in the film industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the movie-going experience. Last year's recipient was filmmaker Christopher Nolan, with *Interstellar* actress Anne Hathaway presenting the award.

Additional presenters for this year's awards included **Bryan Cranston** (*Trumbo*), **Jennifer Jason Leigh** (*The Hateful Eight*), **LL Cool J, Anthony Anderson** (*Black-ish*), **Amy Landecker** (*Transparent*), **Aubrey Plaza** (*Dirty Grandpa*), **Will Forte** (*The Last Man On Earth*), **Kunal Nayyar** (*The Big Bang Theory*), **Jaime Pressly** (*Mom*), **Niecy Nash** (*Getting On, Scream Queens*), **Thomas Middleditch** (*Silicon Valley*) and **O'Shea Jackson Jr.** (*Straight Outta Compton*).

As previously announced, Turner Classic Movies (TCM) host **Robert Osborne** will be the first to receive ADG's newly created William Cameron Menzies Award for his work in championing classic motion pictures, presented by Oscar-winning legendary actress **Eva Marie Saint** (*On the Waterfront*).

Recipients of this year's Lifetime Achievement Awards included Scenic Artist **Bill Anderson**, Oscarnominated Matte Artist **Harrison Ellenshaw**, Set Designer **William J. Newmon**, **II** and Emmy® and Oscar-winning Production Designer **Patrizia von Brandenstein**. Four legendary women - Oscar and Emmy-winning Production Designer **Carmen Dillon**, Emmy-winning Production Designer and Illustrator **Dorothea Holt Redmond**, Oscar-nominated and Emmy-winning Production and Costume Designer **Patricia Norris**, and Art Director and Set Designer **Dianne Wager** – will be inducted into the Art Directors Guild (ADG) Hall of Fame.

Nominations for this year's ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards were announced on January 5. The complete list of nominees can be viewed <u>here</u>. Winners in 11 competitive categories will be revealed at the January 31 ceremony and live via Twitter at <u>twitter.com/adg800</u> (hashtag #ADGawards).

Producer of this year's ADG Awards is Production Designer Tom Wilkins, co-produced by Art Director Judy Cosgrove. ADG Awards are open only to productions, when made within the U.S., by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions. For information about the 20th Anniversary of the ADG Awards, please contact Debbie Patton, Manager of Awards & Events at <u>debbie@artdirectors.org</u> or visit <u>www.adg.org.</u>

Sponsors for the 20th Annual ADG Excellence in Production Awards include <u>Presenting Sponsor</u>: DXV by American Standard. <u>Title Sponsor</u>: 20th Century Fox. <u>Platinum Sponsors</u>: ICM Partners and Universal Pictures. <u>Gold Sponsors</u>: Bleecker Street, History for Hire, NBCUniversal Operations, Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures. <u>Silver Sponsors</u>: AMC American Movie Classics, Astek Wallcovering, Big Sky Movie Ranch, Bridgeman Images, Fox Studios Production Services, FX Productions, Illustrators & Matte Artists Council, JC Backings, Mirisch Agency; Murtha Agency, Scenic, Title, & Graphic Artists Council; Set Designers & Model Makers Council, Shutterstock, Turner Classic Movies, United Talent Agency, Warner Bros Studio Facilities, WME Agency. <u>Media Sponsors</u>: *The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, Below the Line and SHOOTonline*.

**NOTE TO MEDIA:** Media credentials required. To apply, visit <u>http://bit.ly/1ZSRp04</u>. Limited space available for crews wishing to capture the show at the back of the ballroom. Please advise in advance if you would like access to the press area. Broadcast quality EPK of the red carpet, winner interviews, presenters and awards ceremony will be available online at <u>epklink.com/ADGAwards2016</u>

###

## ABOUT THE ART DIRECTORS GUILD:

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,300 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers and Model Makers; and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design), a bimonthly craft magazine (*Perspective*); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild's Online Directory/Website Resource is at <u>www.adg.org.</u> Connect with the Art Directors Guild and the #ADGawards on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>Twitter</u> and <u>Instagram</u>.

## PRESS CONTACTS:

Cheri Warner | Weissman/Markovitz Communications 818.760.8995 | <u>cheri@publicity4all.com</u>

Nicole Player | Weissman/Markovitz Communications 818.760.8995 | <u>nicole@publicity4all.com</u>

## SPONSORSHIP/ADVERTISING CONTACT:

Jill Carrigan I Carol Skeldon | IngleDodd Media 310.207-4410 x 229 I ADGawards@ingledodd.com