

PRINCIPAL CREATIVE TEAM BEHIND THE HARRY POTTER FILMS TO RECEIVE ART DIRECTORS GUILD CINEMATIC IMAGERY AWARD ON FEB. 4, 2012

LOS ANGELES, November 1st — For their distinguished work on Warner Bros.' immensely popular *Harry Potter* films, the principal creative team of the series will collectively receive this year's Art Directors Guild honorary Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award. The team to be honored includes producers David Heyman and David Barron; director David Yates; creator and author J.K. Rowling; screenwriter Steve Kloves; production designer Stuart Craig; art director Neil Lamont; and set decorator Stephenie McMillan. The announcement was made today by Thomas A. Walsh, ADG President, and Awards co-producers Tom Wilkins and Greg Grande.

The award will be presented to the group as one of the highlights of ADG's 16th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards on February 4, 2012, during a black-tie ceremony in the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Lamont and Barron have worked together on six of the Potter films. Rowling, Heyman, Kloves, Craig and McMillan began their collaboration with the very first film, *Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone* (2001), culminating with the most recent blockbuster, *Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2* (2011). Yates directed the final four films of the series.

The *Harry Potter* film series is the most successful film franchise in motion picture history, having accumulated box office receipts of more than \$7.7 billion. To date, five of the eight films have been nominated for a total of nine Academy Awards®, including Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography and Best Visual Effects. The British Academy of Film and Television Arts, American Film Institute, Broadcast Film Critics, International Press Academy and Art Directors Guild have also recognized the outstanding work of the creative team behind the series.

"Their phenomenal success is due to a unity of vision and the masterful wizardry of the franchise's creator, producers, screenwriter and art direction family," Walsh said. "From the very beginning a unique creative partnership has guided the realization of these finely crafted gems. The result is a lasting legacy to the art of narrative storytelling for the moving image, one that will stand the test of time, and one that has raised the creative bar of achievement for all who love film."

The ADG's Cinematic Imagery Award is given to those whose body of work in the film industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the movie-going experience. Previous recipients of this honor have been Bill Taylor, Syd Dutton, Warren Beatty, Allen Daviau, Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards, Terry Gilliam, Ray Harryhausen, Norman Jewison, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Frank Oz, Steven Spielberg, Robert S. Wise and Zhang Yimou.

This is the first time that the guild has selected a motion picture series for this award.

Nominations for the ADG Awards will be announced on January 4, 2012. On awards night, the ADG will present winners in nine competitive categories for theatrical films, television productions, commercials and music videos. As previously announced production designer Tony Walton will receive the Guild's honorary Lifetime Achievement Award and three other production designers will be inducted into the Guild's Hall of Fame. They are Robert Boyle,

William Darling and Alfred Junge. Comedienne Paula Poundstone is set to host for the third consecutive year, which is themed to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the Guild. Set and Décor Sponsor is Swarovski. Media sponsors are Hollywood Reporter and Variety.

ADG Awards are open only to productions, when made within the U.S., by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions.

About the Art Directors Guild:

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents nearly 2,000 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers; and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society; an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design); a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild's Online Directory/Website Resource is at www.adg.org.

Follow ADG on Twitter: www.Twitter.com/ADG800

###

NOTE TO MEDIA: Photo images of the honorees and of the production design scenes are available electronically by contacting Carlos Gaona: Carlos@publicity4all.com

PRESS CONTACTS:

Weissman/Markovitz Communications Lindajo Loftus, Cheri Warner

Tel: 818.760.8995

Lindajo@publicity4all.com, Cheri@publicity4all.com