

ART DIRECTORS GUILD

ART DIRECTORS GUILD TO INDUCT THREE ADDITIONAL LEGENDARY PRODUCTION DESIGNERS INTO ITS HALL OF FAME ON FEBRUARY 5, 2011

LOS ANGELES, September 14 — Three legendary Production Designers are to be inducted into the Art Directors Guild's Hall of Fame at the Guild's 15th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards ceremony to be held at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on February 5, 2011. The Guild's Council has named Production Designers Alexander Golitizen, Albert Heschong and Eugène Lourié as its latest Hall of Fame inductees.

In making the announcement, ADG Council Chairman, Thomas A. Walsh, said, "This continues to be a proud moment for our Guild as we look to the past so we may build the bridges to our future. The ADG Hall of Fame recognizes the many achievements of those artists who created and evolved the unique discipline of art direction for the moving image. Their creative legacy continues to inspire and challenge all of those who have chosen the art of production design as their profession and it is appropriate that we honor their memory through their induction into the ADG Hall of Fame."

Nominations for the 15th Annual ADG Awards will be announced on January 5, 2011. On awards night, February 5, the ADG will present winners in nine competitive categories for theatrical films, television productions and commercials, along with the Guild's awards for Lifetime Achievement and Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery, both still to be announced. For the second consecutive year, and by popular demand, Paula Poundstone is set to host this year's show, which is themed, "Design on Film." Co-Producers for the ADG Awards are Dawn Snyder and Tom Wilkins.

ADG Hall of Fame honors, which are given only posthumously, have previously been awarded to John Box, Hilyard Brown, Malcolm F. Brown, Wilfred Buckland, Henry Bumstead, Edward Carfagno, Carroll Clark, Richard Day, John DeCuir Sr., Hans Dreier, Bob Keene, Cedric Gibbons, Stephen Goosson, Anton Grot, Stephen Grimes, Ted Haworth, Dale Hennesy, Harry Horner, Mac Johnson, Romain Johnston, Boris Leven, John Meehan, William Cameron Menzies, Harold Michelson, Van Nest Polglase, Ferdinando Scarfiotti, Jan Scott, Alexandre Trauner, James Trittipo and Lyle Wheeler.

ALEXANDER GOLITIZEN (1908 - 2005)

After fleeing Russia with his family during the Russian Revolution and attending school in the Northwest part of the United States, Alexander Golitizen began his Art Direction career in Los Angeles as an assistant to Alexander Toluboff, an Art Director for MGM. After continuing in the industry for the next 30 years, Golitizen spent the following three decades as the supervising Art Director at Universal. He worked on more than 300 movies and won the Academy Award® for Best Art Direction-Set Decoration for his work on *To Kill a Mockingbird* (1962); *Spartacus* (1960); and *Phantom of the Opera* (1943) and was nominated 11 more times. He also designed the set for the Academy Awards® show on numerous occasions.

ALBERT HESCHONG (1919 - 2001)

Upon completing his schooling at Carnegie Melon, Albert Heschong served in photo reconnaissance in the Pacific during World War II. After the war, he broke into show business in stage production and was head of CBS's art department from 1962 until he retired. In 1957, he won an Emmy® for Best Art Direction - One Hour or More on the production of *Requiem for a Heavyweight*, the classic "Playhouse 90" drama and was nominated for his work on *My Wicked, Wicked Ways... The Legend of Errol Flynn* (1985); and *Rascals and Robbers: The Secret Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn* (1982). Notably, Heschong was credited as the Production Designer for *Dr. Quinn, Medicine Woman* (1993) and the Art Director for *Gunsmoke* (1961-1973) and *The Wild Wild West* (1965-1967).

EUGÈNE LOURIÉ (1903 - 1991)

Eugène Lourié began his career as a Production Designer in 1930, designing sets for the Parisian Theatre. Upon moving to the USA in 1941 he was credited as the Production Designer on films such as *This Land is Mine* (1943); *The Beast from 20,000 Fathoms* (1953); and *The River* (1951). Lourié is best known for his collaborations with Jean Renoir and specifically the Art Direction for *Grand Illusion* (1937); *Battle of the Bulge* (1965); and *Limelight* (1952). In 1970 his work on *Krakatoa: East of Java* (1969) was nominated for the Academy Award® for Best Effects, Special Visual Effects. He spent a half-century in Hollywood and in 1985 shared this experience in his book, "My Work in Films."

About the Art Directors Guild:

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents nearly 2,000 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, and Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; and Set Designers and Model Makers. Established in 1937, ADG's ongoing activities include a Film Society; an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D | The Future of Immersive Design) and Membership Directory; a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, creative workshops and craft and art exhibitions. The Guild's Online Directory/Website Resource is at www.adg.org.

Follow ADG on Twitter: www.twitter.com/ADG800

###

NOTE TO MEDIA: A composite photo of the three inductees is available electronically by contacting Nicole Bamber: Nicole@publicity4all.com.

PRESS CONTACTS:

Murray Weissman & Associates Lindajo Loftus, Cheri Warner Tel: 818.760.8995 Fax: 818.760.4847

Lindajo@publicity4all.com, Cheri@publicity4all.com